Elijah Filley Stone Barn

13282 E Scott Rd, Filley, NE 68357

Website

|

Facebook

402-228-1679

4

  • Historic

  • Educational

About This Destination

Harvest Festival Oct. 6th 2018 10 am-4 pm.
On April 11, 1977 the Filley Stone Barn was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The following year, it was willed to the Gage County Historical Society by owner Edwin Pedersen, with over three acres of the surrounding land and $10,000 for restoration.
The GCHS is continuing the restoration, which was begun in 1980, as funds become available. 20 acres were added in 1986. The exterior restoration of the stone was completed in 1981.
History:
In 1867 Elijah Filley his wife Emma, sons, Fitch and Hiram and his father Ammi came to Gage County. The family lived in a tent until they completed their seven rooms, 1-1/2 story stone dwelling in 1868. They called their new home "Cottage Hill Farm."
Visitors can see the Filley Stone Barn from the outside at any time.
Harvest Festival held each October. Nebraska's largest limestone barn.

Tips from the Locals