In 1867 Elijah Filley his wife Emma, sons, Fitch and Hiram and his father Ammi came to Gage County. They called their new home "Cottage Hill Farm." After the grasshopers and drought of 1873, Elijah put together the idea of providing income to the area farmers by hiring them to build the barn in 1874. It took 88 days to build and it was completed on November 10 1874. On April 11, 1977 the Filley Stone Barn was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The following year, it was willed to the Gage County Historical Society by owner Edwin Pedersen, with over three acres of the surrounding land and $10,000 for restoration. The exterior restoration of the stone was completed in 1981. Gage County Historical Society continues the preservation of this building to this day. Private tours of the inside of the barn for groups of ten or more are made by arrangements with the museum. Visitors can see the Filley Stone Barn from the outside at any time. Harvest Festival held each October.